• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Is the starter finished?

Ribbs

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm new to yeast starters but I thought the starter would be done by now (going on 3 full days). I used a stir plate the first 15 hours after pitching Wyeast American Ale II, which followed a recommendation in John Palmer's "How to Brew". Now almost 3 full days from pitching and I still see activity in the form of tiny bubbles at various places around the flask. Funny that I didn't see this activity until sometime after 30 hours.

My intent was to pop the starter flask into the refrigerator once it was done in preparation of brewing next week. Should I wait until the bubbling stops?

I use WY1272 quite a bit. It is a slow starter and then finishes quickly once it gets going. I typically do a 48 hr starter with it and get plenty of cell growth. Let it go too long and the yeast will run out of the nutrients it needs to build sterols for cell wall health.

Look into the Shaken Not Stirred or SNS starter method. You can make a starter and have it ready to pitch in 12 to 18 hours and no need for a stir plate.