• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

IMAGINE MY SUPRISE

BILLY BREW

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Well , this one is the poster child for "did you turn your computer on?"
I have been brewing now for a little over 20 years. All for fun and light head without government tax...
Took my dortmunder to my homebrew club as my sample for the evening and got a reaction that I wasn't expecting.
They all found the brew to be contaminated with phenols but ones they couldn't put their finger on.
So after a lot of discussion and disection of my brewing habits the "DUH" step came out.
All these years I have been covering my brew pot to increase the boil. According to most everyone there, that is not a good idea. Who'd a thunk?
So I came up with an idea for the board...How about a DUH SECTION
for obvious but unwritten proceedures for the uneducated and new brewers? would have saved me a red face and 4 bottles that I had to take home... :-[

Yeah a sticky might work too, thanks for the tip by the way as I'm new to this and probably would have made this mistake.

BILLY BREW said:
All these years I have been covering my brew pot to increase the boil. According to most everyone there, that is not a good idea. Who'd a thunk?

OK Newbie here, I have been covering during the boil also.  Can someone explain why that's bad?  I am still working stove top so I cover initially to get the boil up but then remove for the majority of the 60-90 minute wort boil.

Anyone have more details on this?

Thanks ???

From John Palmers book, "How to Brew" I quote: