• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

New Home Brewer – Looking for tips on lager

MasonPeters

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

After hanging around various forums and Facebook pages, I've finally mustered the courage to dive into the world of home brewing!

I'd love to start by brewing a lager, and wondered if any intermediate brewers out there had some solid advice on starting out. Being a complete novice, I'm open to any recommendations on equipment, ingredients, and heads up on any common mistakes people tend to make when brewing lagers.

Someone in a Facebook group mentioned there are some all in one home brewing products out there that are a good place for beginners like me to start and get to grips with the basics. A device called a Pinter was mentioned. Has anyone here tried it or can recommend something similar?

Excited to become part of the BeerSmith community and looking forward to the first taste of my delicious lager! Cheers!

Mason

Hi Mason, welcome to the madness. I would say that ales are a little more forgiving as a first brew, but if you are dead set on a lager then make sure you can control the fermentation temperature, typically around 50F. Ales are pretty happy at room temp. I use a small chest freezer with an external temp controller to control to 50F for lagers. I've never used a pinter so cant comment.

I agree with Steve. Start with a simple ale. Lagers require temperature control both in fermenting and in the storing of the beer. You can ferment an ale in your closet or basement and not worry too much but temperature fluctuations in some lagers can result in unwanted flavors.