• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Is my yeast starter working?

ultrasaha

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi guys,

i'm quite new at homebrewing and its my second attempt to make a yeast starter. The first didn't work, i think i spolied It.

I'm just doing the second one, with a vial of White labs california ale.

I'll explain what i did, step by step, please if anyone have experience in this topic can help:

-Washed the flask (2 liter) with water and soap, then esterilazed with chemi oxi. I also spraied it with some etilic alcohol 70º.
-Prepared 1,2 liter water and 120 grs of malt extract and boiled for 15'. Here came the first incident: overbolied, and i finally got 0.9 liters, so i had boteled water until 1,2 liter (my mistke i didn't boil it...).
-When the flask was at a temperaturte you could hold in your hand, I added the yeast Vial.
-Put all in stirplate in the kitchen, where room temperatura is 18-20 º celcius.

Here are a couple of pictures. First is at 12 hours, second at 36 hours. The color has changed, and there is a lot of solid material in the wort, but nearly no foam on top...

So the question is, is it spolied? Should i throw it away? Any advice?

Thanks!

Jesús.

Attachments

• starter 12h.jpg
    starter 12h.jpg
    268.2 KB · Views: 11
  • starter 36h.jpg
    starter 36h.jpg
    368.4 KB · Views: 11
If it were me I would use StarSan to sanitize.  Not sure what you mean by
When the flask was at a temperaturte you could hold in your hand
, but I wait till the flask feels pretty cool to the touch.  Did you use an ice bath to chill it?  You wont get a lot of foam when you stir.  At 36 hr your starter is way ready to go. 

Hi KernelCrush: