• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Over Night Mesh

amasterj

Apprentice
Reaction score
Because of time restraints I have been doing an over night mesh. I heat my water up to the temp suggested by BS for a single infusion batch sparge recipe. Put in the grain and then bring my mesh tun in for the night. Usually around 8 to 9 hours.  I only lose about 8 to 10 degrees over night. I have had pretty good success doing this. Hitting my OG's perfectly. It does tend to make the beer a little darker then the recipe calls for. So I make a slight adjustment in my grains to compensate for that.  I am a relative newbie to all grain brewing and Beer Smith. I am just curious if anyone knows what I am doing to my beer by doing it this way. I see no profile that takes this method into account. Is there a way to set BS up to account for what I am doing? Should I be making some adjustments to temps, water etc.?

Someone recently talked about over night mashing.  He mashed late in the day, if I remember correctly, and decided to leave it over night and boil in the morning.  His mash turned sour, ruining his efforts.  What you're doing might lead to unexpected and unwanted results.

If you search online there is lots of info on the subject. I don't believe I am leaving it long enough to develop any souring. Although I read that is a concern. I am more interested in what it is doing to the sugars, should I be doing a hotter sparge?

amasterj said:
If you search online there is lots of info on the subject. I don't believe I am leaving it long enough to develop any souring. Although I read that is a concern. I am more interested in what it is doing to the sugars, should I be doing a hotter sparge?