• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Total Efficiency Greyed Out

Stewart194

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am still new at this and have done 5 extract brews so far, the last two after purchasing Beersmith 2.  I now use a 7.5 gallon turkey fryer and I started doing full boils.  The problem is that I can't hit the correct Original Gravity anymore since moving to full boils.  I've slowly started adding more and more Light Dry Malt Extract and am getting closer each time, but is this the correct way to go about this?

I'm still really unfamiliar with Beersmith, but I am hoping it can help me correct this.  I've recently learned that 80% efficiency is really good, and that somewhere around 72% seems to be around average.  If 72% is actually close to average, I must currently be around 65% I would guess.  (Although I don't understand this stuff yet or why it's happening)  My first IPA on my new system was supposed to have an OG of 1.072 according to Beersmith, but it ended up being 1.062.  My second batch which was an Irish Red was supposed to be 1.057 and ended up being 1.052.  Much closer but still off.

The Total Efficiency field in Beersmith says 72%.  I was hoping I could lower that number and maybe it would help / automatically tweak my recipes so that I could hit my numbers, but that field is greyed out.  Should it be greyed out?  If there is a way to make it not greyed out so that I can put a lower number in there?  If so would that help me or is that not the way it works?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!