• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

What system should I buy?

Smokaah

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I am new to brewing, so far I have done 6 or so all grain batches with good success. I own a successful bar and grill and was thinking of brewing my own beer for sale at my bar.  I have 18 taps and I figure I could start off with one tap of my own and eventually maybe have 3 taps or so of my own beers on tap.

I have been looking at the Brew Magic system as a good starting unit but was wondering if I should consider another brand or maybe something a little bigger.  Currently I sell about a keg a week of most of the micro brews on tap (Miller Lite and Coors lite dominate with 3-4 a week each) so I figure I could sell a keg a week of my own beer and hopefully grow that number in a year or two.

I have 1500 square feet available to brew, hood system etc. The money is not an issue, I just dont want to get into a overkill situation with the brew system.

Any suggestions?

If your plan is for a keg a week, then the next question you would ask yourself is how much time do you have to devote to brewing beer? That magic system looks like a keg a week would be 2 batches of beer per week. 20 hours of work maybe? Not sure how much time the automation controls save, would depend on your ability to multitask. You can multiply the hours needed by the amount of kegs you plan to have. So 3 kegs would be 60 hours a week on that system.