• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

How much yeast do I need?

philm63

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Looking at some recipes in the BS Cloud, I see that as the grain bill goes up, so too does the yeast. Is there a direct correlation here? And is there a simple guideline to follow? (X grams of yeast per pound of grain (or extract), or...?)

I'm seeing some Imperial IPAs using 2 or even 3 packets of yeast but in the recipe there is little or no indication of packet size so it's a little confusing to me. If I have this right; if I use too little yeast, my fermentation could get stuck. Don't want that, so some guidance from the experts would be much appreciated.

Someone can stop me if I'm wrong, I am new to brewing but reading some books on it. I found the corolation was more with the OG. I found some good equations for it just by googling your exact subject. Or the beer smith book had good equations in it too

I use Wyeast, and use their on line calculator. I'm sure White Labs has one also. There is another on line calculator that a lot of folks here use, but I can't remember the name of it.
OG does have a lot to do with it, and as a rule of thumb anything 60 and above needs more than 1 pack or a starter.
But I strongly suggest checking with the on line calculators.

Ed

There are deferring opinions but here is what I can add

Cells to Pitch  =  1 Million  x  milliliters wort  x  degrees Plato
The 1 million can be between .75 Million to 1.25 Million depending on the source of information.
Now in useful US units that is
Cells to Pitch  =  0.5 to 0.7 Billion  x  Gallons  x  Specific Gravity Points  [Palmer suggests 0.5 and White suggests 0.70]
For a lager, fermented at colder temperatures the general wisdom is to double the pitch rate.