• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Dry or Liquid

S

Shakey_Dog

Do you use dry or liguid yeast and why?

I have been using White Labs for about the past 4 or 5 years and have been very very happy with the results.  But from what I have read on this and other forums I think I am in the minority using liquid.  People seem to think it is a hassle.

So I thought I would put the question out there.  Dry v liquid,  you decide.

Don

I started brewing in the days when dry yeast was the only option.

I have to say that when liquid yeast became available it changed the whole nature of brewing.  I could now duplicate styles that were not even possible before.

In case you can't tell, I'm a big liquid yeast fan.

Cheers!
Brad

I prefer liquid.  I have used dry before but the liquid yeast takes home brewing to a whole new level in my opinion.  Many more style options, consistent quality, and ease of use.

-Brian

Liquid (White Labs). I also started with dry yeast, as I'm sure most homebrewers have. But the different varieties of liquid yeasts available add whole new dimensions of flavor. A weizen, pils, scottish, any Belgian style etc with dry yeast?!? I think not!!

Plus, there's the whole mad scientist aspect

Are you using starters?

I have not been but have been considering doing it.  Is the only real value of a starter a shorter lag time?

Don

I always use starters...guess it's more like an "insurance policy" than anything else.  When I brew a 10 gallon batch, I make a 1.6 L starter the night before with a cup of dry malt and a pinch of yeast nutrients.