• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Mash temperature

WhiteWhale

Apprentice
Reaction score
Dear Brewers,

I am a beginner BIAB brewer with about 5 brews done so far.
Many issues has been resolved but this one is still bothering me.

When I mash I heat the water on a stove and dump the grains, that's when my troubles start.
My simple glass thermometer is going bananas in the mash.
Very different temperatures in different locations.
75 C here, 60 there.

So, I think I have found a technique to stir the mash in a sertain way and get a somewhat stable reading. It almost works...but I feel I cannot trust it.
I open the lid every 20 mins or so to adjust the heat. I loose about 1-2 C over that time. It is very tricky to adjust.

I think I heard that you shouldn't stir the mash too much?
How are you guys measuring to get the best reading?
What am I doing wrong?

Many thanks!

You are doing nothing wrong.  The heat from the kettle will dissipate into the surrounding air, cooling down the sides and creating a gradient across the mash.  This is normal.

Stirring in well is never the wrong thing to do.  You don't want to end up with dough balls which will prevent water penetration and good extraction.

When I was doing BIAB on the stove, I would set my digital thermometer about 2/3 the way from the center to the edge to regulate the temperature.  By choosing the same location every time, I would ensure that my process was consistent and repeatable.  The kettle would have been about a degree higher in the center and lower near the edge, but on average, it was the temperature where I had the thermometer set.