• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Help modifying recipe

muskyboy

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello all, I am very new to all grain and even newer to beersmith.  I have a few questions and I can't seem to find the answers to.  I am planning on brewing a pale ale recipe I found online.  I have the anvil foundry 10.5.  I downloaded the add on profile for the foundry.  So the recipe calls for 10.87 lbs of grains. In beersmith it says I need 7.63 gal of total water with 3.40 gal for mash and sparge with 4.22 gal. 

In the instructions for the foundry it has a table with water volumes based on amount of grains and volt you are using for boil off loss.  It says i should use 5.9 gallons of water and sparge with only 1 gallon bringing total to 6.9 total gallons.  I am using the recirculating pump during mash.

My question is, do I change volumes from anvil instructions to beersmith recommendations and sparge with 4.22 gal?  That seems like a lot to me, but I am new to all grain am just learning.  I would think that mashing with only 3.40 gallons wouldn't be enough water. 

Thank you in advance!

The water split is controlled by the mash profile.  So that is where you want to concentrate your efforts.

The water recommendations in the Anvil manual are geared towards people who are new to all-grain or all-in-one units and who are not using brewing software.  There is a way to mimic these instructions, but really it is not needed.

I have the 6.5 gal Anvil and generated my own equipment profile.  A step-by-step method can be found in the 'equipment' topic. When I mash, I set the mash profile for a BIAB profile, which means all the water is included in the mashing and there is no sparge.