• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Can you siphon carbonated beer from keg to bottle?

kw642

Master Brewer
Reaction score
I racked 5 gallons of NEIPA to a keg, but now I can't get it to come out of the tap.  I kinda saw this coming as it did turn out very chunky with all the dry hopping etc. - the beer line was jammed before I could even get enough to fill a shooter glass.  Haven't been able to clear the line yet, and even if I do it's going to happen again on the next pour.  I'm new to kegging so forgive me if there's an obvious answer here, but what's the best way to proceed?  It's not going to go through anything less than 3/8" in diameter.  Can you siphon force carbonated beer into bottles without losing adequate carbonation?  Should I let it go flat and bottle condition it?

Cheers

This happened to me the first time I kegged an IPA.  I use swivel nuts on my connectors, so I switched the gas line onto the liquid connector and hit it with a short burst of CO2.  Cleared theline and let the leg settle for a few days before drawing another pint.

If you are set on bottling, the best way would be through the beer line so you are facing the same issue. 

You can siphon the beer out into a bottling bucket, add some priming sugar and bottle from there, but you will be exposing the beer to Oxygen and shorten the shelf life.

ditto, blast some co2 through the liquid line. they make filters that you can install on the dip tube, they seem to be more problems than benefits though.

the other option is to crank the co2 up to 30psi or so and see if you can force it through.