• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Baffled by Mash Ph

jasonandmollyb

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm a newbie to brewing and  so far have made two successful batches beers in my Brewers Edge.  Everything seems to be going really well, with both the finished product and the with Beersmith, except for one thing.  The calculations for the acid additions seem to be way overshooting the actual need.  Each time I added about half of what Beersmith 3 recommended (2 Tbsp of phosphoric acid) and each time I went from a starting Ph of 7.6 water to around 3.5.  I dumped the water and started over adding only an 1/8 tsp and the water went to around 6.0, making the eventual mash perfect at 5.4. 

I assume I must be doing something wrong, but I can't for the life of me understand why using so little acid (compared to what is recommend is enough to change the value so dramatically.

I've used two different calibrated Ph Meters, tested the water (both before and after the additions) at about 70 degrees each time.  I'm also taking samples from the top and out of the spigot to make sure there isn't a mixing issue. I'm at a complete loss.  Does anyone have any idea where I could be going wrong?  Before anyone points at Beersmith as the culprit, the Bru'n water while slightly different, still have much higher results than what I expected.

So, let's understand that the acid additions recommended by BeerSmith are to control the pH of the mash and not your water.  For the most part, the pH of your water means very little to the mash pH.  It is more the minerals and ions in your water which will affect the pH of the mash. If you use acid, pay no attention to the water pH once you have added the acid.