• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Water quality

anak85

Brewer
Reaction score
Hi there!

I have been brewing for a few months and now requested some values from our local water supplier regarding our water quality.

They said the water comes from various sources and these can change throughout the year.

But they were able to narrow the results to the following here in Germany:

pH-value                                                8,0 ? 8,5
Ca                                                          28 ? 34 mg/l
Mg                                                        6 ? 9 mg/l
Na                                                        10 ? 12 mg/l
Sulfate                                                  27 ? 30 mg/l
Chloride                                                17 ? 18 mg/l
Hardness                                            5 ? 7 ?dH
acid capacity 4,3                          1 ? 1,6 mmol/l

Sooo.... first of all. Are these values ok or is something too far off?

And secondly, how would I go about entering them into BeerSmith which requires parts per Million?

I just noticed bicarbonate (HCO3) is missing from the list he sent me. I asked for it but they didn't add it and also do not have it on their website for the general public. Is this an important factor I should research?

Thanks in advance!
Phillip

Yeah, is there somewhere you can have your water tested by a 3rd party?

carbonates/bicarbonates are important as that's your alkalinity. You don't have a lot of hardness (calcium + magnesium) to offset any of the total alkalinity and you'll need bicarbonates to determine your residual alkalinity and how much buffering you need to overcome to get into the appropriate mash pH range.

Mark