• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

When to take measurements

talk2e

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I've been brewing for quite a few years and love the BeerSmith program.  I'd like to know when do you take the measurements for end of running gravity, post mash gravity, and pre-boil gravity?  Like to start working on efficiency and getting more out of my beers and never really understood when to take these readings.

I brew 5 gal all grain batches and fly sparge.

Thanks

End of running gravity only really matters if you are fly sparging.  I do also use it for recording the gravity of my second runnings when doing a batch sparge.  The time to take it is at the very end of the sparge step just before or after you have hit your target volume in your boil kettle.

Post mash gravity I take as soon as I have all the wort in the boil kettle and before I add any sugars or extract to the kettle (if the recipe calls for it). 

Pre-boil gravity reading is with the sugars and extract added to the boil kettle.  If you are not adding any fermentables to the boil kettle other than the wort collected from the mash, then the readings post mash and pre-boil should be the same number.

For me, I like to have a lot of readings so I take a first running and last from the first batch then the same for the batch sparge then stir the kettle like crazy and measure the preboil.    I will also measure at 30 minutes and 15 left in the boil to assess where I am in regards to my target OG.  I only measure my final gravity when I keg.

Most folks I know simply measure the pre-boil once the kettle is at the starting volume. 
Next is after chilling and before adding yeast.
Lastly, post fermentation when they are kegging or bottling.