Author Topic: First Time Recipe Creation - Hazy IPA  (Read 2038 times)

Offline Beery

• BeerSmith Apprentice Brewer
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
First Time Recipe Creation - Hazy IPA
« on: June 02, 2018, 04:40:40 PM »
Building a Hazy IPA from scratch although I did get some inspiration from https://byo.com/article/neipa-style-profile/.
I also found Amarillo, Cascade, and Citra hops at a deep discount, as well as the yeast. So that determined the hops and yeast. I added the style guide from https://www.brewersassociation.org/resources/brewers-association-beer-style-guidelines/#216 for Juicy\Hazy IPA and adjusted the recipe accordingly. I have no prior experience combining hops but my research indicated these should play well together. I won't be able to brew this for another week or so but would love comments. criticism, suggestions etc.
Thanks!
In the bottle: Juicy Werks NEIPA clone.
In the fermenter:  Weissbier

Offline Oginme

• BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • Goats, guitars, and a home brew; Life is good!
    • Longvu LaManchas
Re: First Time Recipe Creation - Hazy IPA
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2018, 06:15:15 AM »
I've spent a lot of time researching NEIPAs over the past year before working to design my own.  I kind of built up the different aspects in other recipes before combining them into a recipe and brewing.  This is actually how I work my IPA recipes is by establishing a base beer and slowly adding to it to transform it to the actual style and flavors I want.

Looking at your recipe, I would make the following suggestions: