• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

First Time Recipe Creation - Hazy IPA

Beery

Apprentice
Reaction score
Building a Hazy IPA from scratch although I did get some inspiration from https://byo.com/article/neipa-style-profile/.
I also found Amarillo, Cascade, and Citra hops at a deep discount, as well as the yeast. So that determined the hops and yeast. I added the style guide from https://www.brewersassociation.org/resources/brewers-association-beer-style-guidelines/#216 for Juicy\Hazy IPA and adjusted the recipe accordingly. I have no prior experience combining hops but my research indicated these should play well together. I won't be able to brew this for another week or so but would love comments. criticism, suggestions etc.
Thanks!

Attachments

• Hazy IPA.pdf
    117.7 KB · Views: 327
I've spent a lot of time researching NEIPAs over the past year before working to design my own.  I kind of built up the different aspects in other recipes before combining them into a recipe and brewing.  This is actually how I work my IPA recipes is by establishing a base beer and slowly adding to it to transform it to the actual style and flavors I want.

Looking at your recipe, I would make the following suggestions:

1.  You need to build a good mouthfeel to establish that 'juicy' aspect without much lingering sweetness.  I would recommend a combined percentage of oats and wheat to be in the range of 15% at a minimum to 25%, though I've seen recipes with higher content.  My base recipe was an American Wheat so the wheat content was already high and it really wasn't until I replaced the wheat with about 10% oats that I was able to get a fuller mouthfeel.  Wheat by itself will not cut it and getting the oats up to the 10%+ range is needed.