• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Pitching rate conversion

GoodNewsBrews

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hey all.  I am new to liquid yeast and am trying to do a recipe that calls for a pitch rate of 16 to 18. It's a 19 liter batch and I've used Mr.Malty and Brewer's Friend before, but I don't know what 16 to 18 means as far as cells per ml/plato.  Can anyone explain this to me?  I don't want to over or under pitch.

Thanks so much!

GoodNewsBrews said:
Hey all.  I am new to liquid yeast and am trying to do a recipe that calls for a pitch rate of 16 to 18. It's a 19 liter batch and I've used Mr.Malty and Brewer's Friend before, but I don't know what 16 to 18 means as far as cells per ml/plato.  Can anyone explain this to me?  I don't want to over or under pitch.

Thanks so much!

Honestly, You can just pitch the entire packet or tube and it should be fine unless its a lager, then you should pitch double or even triple what you would with a ale.

GoodNewsBrews said:
calls for a pitch rate of 16 to 18.

I am not sure what the 16 to 18 refers to.  Can you elaborate more on what the units are for this and from where you have gotten that value?

GoodNewsBrews said:

Thanks so much!

Greetings GoodNewsBrews - without further information about what you are actually brewing, it sounds to me like you might be brewing a Lager where the recommended 16 - 18 in the recipe would equate to million cells/mL of wort.  The pitch rates I have used are as follows:

Ales - 6 million cells per mL wort. (6m x 19,000 mL) = 114 billion cells required for a 19L batch
Lagers - 15 million cells per mL wort (15m x 19,000 mL) 285 billion cells required for a 19L batch

Of coarse these numbers are quite rough.