Author Topic: Mash sparge volume Bug?  (Read 283 times)

Offline Javaslinger

  • BeerSmith Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Mash sparge volume Bug?
« on: October 10, 2017, 01:38:38 PM »
My Mash Profile (Single Infusion, Med Body, Batch Sparge) is set with 'Use Equal Batch Sizes' checked on.  I assume this means that if I need to sparge with 4 gal total - it will split it into 2 x 2gal sparges.

However, in my case, it has me do 2 sparges - one 0.06gal and one 3.89 gal...  seems odd

Offline Oginme

  • BeerSmith Grandmaster Brewer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1322
  • Karma: 64
  • Goats, guitars, and a home brew; Life is good!
    • Longvu LaManchas
Re: Mash sparge volume Bug?
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 02:15:04 PM »
Do you have the box checked to drain the mash tun first?  Usually this happens because the program adds water to fill the mash tun, assumes the user drains it and then adds the balance.  If you drain the mash tun first before adding any sparge water, then you need to tell the program that is your process.
Recycle your grains, feed them to a goat!

Offline Javaslinger

  • BeerSmith Brewer
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • BeerSmith 2 Rocks!
Re: Mash sparge volume Bug?
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 06:12:37 PM »
Ah, I see.  In fact I sparge in a bucket separate from my BIAB boil kettle - so in a sense, I guess I'm draining my mash tun....