• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Conical Fast Fermenter vs. Bucket Fermenting

biigwigg

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to the home brew game, and I'm getting ready to brew my very first batch.  I've been doing a lot of research and reading (John J. Palmer's 'How to Brew').  I am continually seeing articles and suggestions to switch to a "fast fermenter" conical fermenter that allows you to do 1st and 2nd fermentation in the same container.  Supposedly to save time, money, and effort.

I'm curious if anyone else uses this type of fermenter, what your take is, and what your suggestions are for a first timer.

There are a lot of acceptable options available. 

The cheapest is the HDPE bucket.  Make sure it is food grade quality.  They work fine and even some bigger name home brewers use them all the time.  Personally, I don't like the way the lids seal (or don't) and dislike taking the whole lid off to see what is going on inside.  Personal preference.

Next is the carboys.  I do the majority of my brewing in a plastic carboy.  I dislike the clumsiness of the glass carboys and the weight when full.  These have a smaller bung on top, so there is less of an air exchange when removing them.  That said, they are more of a problem with removing bags of hops, oak cubes, fruit, or other materials added during the fermentation.

Some people use sanke kegs for fermenting.  Never tried them, so cannot comment.