• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Few questions about water adjustments and Beersmith..

geardaddys

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hey All,

I've been brewing BIAB for a few years now, and have been producing pretty decent beers (for me anyway).. I like IPA's and brew them the most often, however I live in Baltimore MD, where we have very soft water.. I'm ready to move my brewing up a step and start doing some water adjustments.. I've watched several youtube videos and have a basic understanding of the water profiles in BS.. I'm a little bit murky on some things however.. I'm trying to figure out how to get BS to do my calculations for the salt/mineral additions, as well as forecast my mash ph.. Please bear with me and I'll explain where I am so far..

1. Obtained water report from Ward Labs for our area... (Done)
2. Entered new water profile into BS with the data from this water report.. (Done)
3. Entered water profile from Mike "Tasty" McDole.. His hoppy beer water profile.. (Done)
4.  Opened recipe for a practice IPA.. Vol Tab.. Note gallons of water required for BIAB.. (10.16g)
5.  Opened water profile tool.. Entered gallons of water, My local water profile, as well as target profile (Tasty's).. Hit "Match Profile"

Now for my questions:

I see the calculations for additions on the water profile page.. Should I copy these down, and enter them as ingredients on the ingredients page, or will one of the "save" buttons on the water page propogate the changes automatically?