• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Steep/Mashing time for Extract Recipe

mactommy

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am new to Beersmith but I have been making beer now for about 18 months. I imported a recipe that I have made before, White House Honey Porter.  This recipe calls for a steep/mashing time of 45 minutes. Yet it appears that the program defaults to 30 minutes for steeping if the recipe is a Extract type. How does one get the correct steeping time for a extract recipe? I have asked the question twice on the contact page but no answer. I sometimes remake a recipe from Brewers Best which has a steep/mash time of 20 minutes yet I do no see how to get that set. Is the program broken? Am I doing something wrong?

You can leave the steeping time at the default of 30 minutes.  20 minutes is sufficient time to extract the sugars, color, and flavor from the steeping grains.  A steeping time of 45 minutes will not gain anything extra.

This is for steeping grains not a partial mash of grains which require conversion.  It would be helpful to post the recipe if this may be a partial mash.

The recipe is from the White House, Withe House Honey Porter. Here it is.

White House Honey Porter
Ingredients
• 2 (3.3 lb) cans light unhopped malt extract
• 3/4 lb Munich Malt (cracked)
• 1 lb crystal 20 malt (cracked)
• 6 oz black malt (cracked)
• 3 oz chocolate malt (cracked)
• 1 lb White House Honey
• 10 HBUs bittering hops
• 1/2 oz Hallertaur Aroma hops
• 1 pkg Nottingham dry yeast
• 3/4 cup corn sugar for bottling
Directions