BeerSmith™ Home Brewing Forum

BeerSmith Software => BeerSmith 2 Bugs/Support => Topic started by: pullapint on November 05, 2018, 12:52:14 PM

Title: BeerSmith 2 pop-up message
Post by: pullapint on November 05, 2018, 12:52:14 PM
Recently I learned about the archive folder(thank you very much) and while opening an archive file, I received the following pop-up message.
Also, if I follow the instructions in the message, yes=open BeerSmith, no=close BeerSmith, yes will open another instance of BeerSmith (if I already have BeerSmith open) and if I choose no, the pop-up just goes away and BeerSmith stays open. Is this correct behavior?
My thinking was yes=open: a new tab would open in the open BeerSmith and no=close: would close the open instance and open a new instance because of what the pop-up says about "running more than 1 copy could result in data loss".
Title: Re: BeerSmith 2 pop-up message
Post by: Oginme on November 05, 2018, 01:29:25 PM
If you click on 'yes', then the program will open up another BeerSmith session.  The two open instances of BeerSmith cannot share the critical files for recipes, equipment, preferences, etc., so the program reopened with your archived file may overwrite the files of the first instance.  This is why the warning about data loss.